Phi Beta Mu - Lambda Chapter - Claude T. Smith Contest - 2022-23


Phi Beta Mu - Lambda Chapter © 2022-23 - site design and build by Jim Waechter

Director of Bands-Retired - Ladue High School and Middle School

Claude T. Smith Memorial Band Composition Contest

Contest Rules - click here




The Lambda Chapter of Phi Beta Mu established a band composition contest in 1982 under the leadership of prominent band composer Claude T. Smith, a member of the Lambda Chapter.  Following Smith's death in 1987 the contest was renamed the Claude T. Smith Memorial Band Composition Contest.  The original intent of this contest was to encourage young composers of band music and is held every three years.  A cash scholarship award of $5,000 is awarded to the winner of this contest.  The 2025 contest is open to composers age 30 or under as of January 1, 2025 and the deadline for entries is August 1, 2024.  Contact Joe Pappas (  owner of JPM Music Publications for additional information or click here now.

The chapter voted to assess each member three dollars annually to provide funding so that the prize could be offered every three years.  The winner of the first contest (1985) received an award of $300.  With a contribution from the Smith family and increased chapter support, the prize was increased to $1,000 in 1995.  The 2007 award was increased to $3,500.00 and, as a result of continued support from various organizations and individuals the award for 2016 will be $5,000. Every attempt is made to have the winning composition performed at the Missouri Music Educators Association annual state convention. The fraternity pays for expenses for the winning composer to attend the convention.  The chair of the composition committee is Joe Pappas (  owner of JPM Music Publications.

The contest rules were formulated by Claude Smith and approved by the membership:

- Composers must be thirty years of age or younger.

- The composition must be original and unpublished.

- The composition should be of grade III-IV difficulty and conform to standard band instrumentation.

- A full score and high quality recording is to be included.

- Entries are due on August1.

- A committee of Lambda Chapter members shall select the winner.

Below is a list of the winning compositions and an update on the activities of the composers: 

1985 - There Shall Only Be Silence - David Gorham    Unpublished.

David has 48 compositions published.  Currently he is the director of bands at Owasso High School, Owasso, Oklahoma.

1989 - Variations on 'A Mighty Fortress Is Our God' - Darren Jenkins Published by J & M Music (out of print)

Southern Music has published his composition Delaware Valley Celebration and his composition for saxophone solo and band has received many performances in this country and in Europe.  Darren is an assistant band director in the Lawrence, Kansas school system.

1992 - I Am - Andy Boysen, Jr.  Published by Kjos

Andy has 23 works published and several in the process.  He is in his fourth year as Director of Bands at the University of New Hampshire.

1995 - Ovations - Andy Boysen, Jr. Published by Kjos

1998 - Sala ya Tanzania - Ken Hakoda    Published by FJH Music

Ken is the Band Director at Ellingwood High School, Ellingwood, Kansas.  His composition Peace: A Place for Us is published by FJH Music.  He has written five works for concert band, two commissioned from high schools.  He was commissioned to write a piece for the St. Olaf College Band in 2000 and recently completed a work for the Oklahoma Youth Wind Symphony.  He is currently working on a piece for a high school band in Iowa and has two more commissions pending.

2001 - Prestidigitato - Kyle Kindred      Published by TRN

Currently Kyle has a scholarship to study with Donald Grantham for a Master of Music Degree in Composition at the University of Texas.

2004 – Twilight in the Wilderness – Christopher Tucker Published by Southern Music

Christopher is from DeSoto, TX and continues to compose.  He is a radio announcer for  WRR Classical 101.1 in Dallas.

2007 – Play – Carl Holmquist      Published by C. Allen Publications

Carl lives in Arlington, VA where he is the director of bands at the H-B Woodlawn Program of the Arlington Public Schools.  Published C. Allen Publications.

2010 – Robinson Suite – Joseph Earp

Joseph Earp is currently serving at Cox Mill High School (Concord, North Carolina) as Director of Bands.  Published by BKJ Publications

2013 – No Award Presented.

2016 – SPARK! - Robert Langenfeld

Robert lives in Shawnee, KS, is a software engineer and operates his own publishing company…RLCompositions.  

2019 – KEY WEST OVERTURE – Chandler Comer

KEY WEST OVERTURE by Chandler Comer is the winning composition in the 2019 C. T. Smith Composition Contest.  Chandler is from Centreville, VA.  He is a May 2018 graduate of George Mason University with a B.A. in mathematics and has several published compositions to his name.

2025 – ARMORY – Dakota Pederson

Armory by Dakota Pederson is the winning composition in the 2022 C. T. Smith Composition Contest.  Dakota is a senior Music Education Major at Indiana State University.  He already has been the recipient of several awards for young composers.  Armory was performed by the Saint Louis Wind Symphony at the 2022 MMEA state Conference.

As is evident, the intent of this contest to encourage young composers of music for band has been met. The Lambda Chapter is committed to continuing this project and adding to the repertoire of original compositions for band. 

Contests will continue to be held every three years i.e. 2019, 2022, etc.

For further information, please contact Joe Pappas, Chair-Claude T. Smith Memorial Band Composition 113 Glenfield Dr. Fenton, MO 63028 or

Tom Poshak, Secretary/Treasurer Lambda Chapter

834 Rochdale

Kirkwood, MO 63122